Macross Plus: Voices

July 19, 2012 at 3:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

I heard “Voices” by Yoko Kanno for the first time about 14 or 15 years ago, and I still remember how mysterious and beautiful I thought it was. The chord progressions and melodies were so unusual to me, but yet so hauntingly lovely that I listened to it over and over again in order to try and understand it. It was unlike anything I’d ever heard before, as is the case with many of Yoko-san’s compositions.

I hope you’ll enjoy our rendition of “Voices.” This is my first collaboration with Kyle Landry, a very talented youtube pianist who covers everything from video game music to classical pieces and everything in between. The non-traditional chord progressions made recording all the vocal harmonies quite a challenge for me, but I learned a lot in the process and am really happy we were able to work on this song together. Anyways, here is the video:

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Beautiful rendition😀

  2. That was absolutely beautiful. Any chance of ever seeing it as an mp3?

  3. I love this in so many ways! Kyle Landry is one of the best YouTube pianists. I’m a HUGE Macross fan! You always pick the best pieces, Laura!🙂

  4. Hello from Japan!
    I happened to knew of you this morning, and have read and watched some blogs and videos of yours. Now I am a big fan of SuperShigi.
    You might have known of Miyazaki Hayao (http://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E5%AE%AE%E5%B4%8E%E9%A7%BF) My family and I love Tonari no Totoro, one of his animations, very much, and I tell you that you will be singing a new music for his new animation some day!
    Pinky-swear, please!

  5. Great version! I’m also still a huge Macross Plus fan.

  6. Yoko Kanno feat. Laura Shigihara would equal: shut up and take my money!

    That album would be the most epic thing ever! ^_^


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

