Juice Fiasco

April 17, 2012 at 1:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Upon reflecting on the incident I’m about to tell you about, I realized that I wrote a journal entry at some point in my past entitled “milk fiasco” in which I endured a similar liquid beverage mishap. I had to go look this up because I figured it was wholly appropriate. I will copy and paste. Observe shigi circa 2004:


Okay, I’m like the biggest spaz in the world. I’m supposed to hang out with YC today, so I decided to make some lunch before he got here so that I could take my magnesium supplement. For a drink, I was going to make matcha with milk; it tastes like green tea ice cream (Ken’s mother was nice enough to pick me up a bag of the amai matcha, because I couldn’t find it on my own, and nobody at the store seemed to think it existed). And as I’m taking the milk out of the refrigerator, gosh, I don’t even know what happened… I must have let it slip somehow, and the side of the carton hit something, and it basically, exploded. Well, I honestly don’t remember how it started. But I do remember somehow having to catch the carton, and milk flying everywhere… and then I remember seeing the hole in the side where milk was spilling out, and I frantically tilted it so that the milk wouldn’t spill out. But in doing so, the milk started pouring out of the top of the carton.

At this point, there was milk everywhere… all over the floor, and the fridge, and the windows (wtf!?!?!), and me… so I threw the thing into the sink and let it drain out there. And the whole time I was screaming, and the window was open, and at some point I think one of my neighbors walked by while I was tilting the carton, so it probably looked like I decided to pour out milk all over my floor. I must find out which neighbor this was. The worst part is that I seriously can’t remember why it happened in the first place. I think I’m losing my mind. But I did salvage some of the milk, and now I’m drinking amai matcha and it’s good.

And in true mindless random shigi fashion, I closed with this:


Oh, here is a picture of the octopus at Heundae beach. It was nearly as big as Grace.

Yes, I ended the entry about how I poured milk all over myself, the kitchen, and the floor with a photo of a giant octopus.

So now onto what happened today, in 2012. This morning, I decided to mix cranberry and orange juice together, so I got out a cup and started pouring the cranberry juice in first. I don’t know why this happened, because the cranberry juice bottle was not slippery, but for some reason the (very full) bottle slipped out of my hands as I was pouring. In a vain attempt to catch it, I managed to knock the bottle upwards, causing it to slam against the counter. At this point, bright red juice flew out all over the place. It was on the counter, the floor, inside the drawers, all over the things on top of the counter, and me.

So throughout all of this, I was screaming in horror. Then George comes over to see what’s going on, and he sees me standing there screaming in the middle of the kitchen, that also happens to be covered in bright red liquid. That took an amazingly long time to clean up, but perhaps because it was so red, it was much easier to see than say milk, and thus much easier to thoroughly remove it. And the cranberry orange drink ended up being very good.

And just to be consistent with the shigi from 2004, here is a picture of an egg that I painted over at the Librande’s house for Easter. It’s the Sunflower having tea with a friendly ghost.

Have a nice day!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Its a sad but incredibly adorable picture to imagine you covered in juice hopelessly scolding the bottle. I’ve had a similar experience with a water pitcher (thank goodness) but I can understand your frustration. And maybe it was some kind of freak flashback that made it happen this time?!πŸ˜„

    You reminded me of something kinda similar: Notch tweeted once about dropping his phone and inevitably while trying to catch it, hulk smashing it into the floor. I thought about you trying to catch the bottle and I can vividly imagine the bottle bouncing in your arms.πŸ˜„

    Cute pic at the end; it makes for a very interesting blog structure. Template-ish Title – Intro – incident – conclusion – completely unrelated image. :3

  2. “And the whole time I was screaming, and the window was open, and at some point I think one of my neighbors walked by while I was tilting the carton, so it probably looked like I decided to pour out milk all over my floor. I must find out which neighbor this was.”

    They’ve seen too much! They must be dispatched quickly.

  3. πŸ™‚ I think we have all done something like that before. Cute egg!

  4. You just made my day with this post. THANK YOU! LMAO

    I’m a kind of clumsy person too, I’ve broken several glasses and plates in the pastπŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

