Cube Land

November 17, 2011 at 12:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 10 Comments
Tags: , ,

It’s been almost a year since I started working on this project, but last night I finally finished the Cube Land music video. I wrote this song after spending a full Saturday playing Minecraft. When I finally pulled myself from the computer I got to thinking a lot about escapism. I thought about all the different things people want to escape from… problems at home or work, anger, fear, sadness, loss, insecurities, painful things that happened in your past; all those inner demons we have. I thought about what I was escaping from. And I got to thinking that one of the most beautiful moments is when you finally break the hold those things have on you. I think it’s not something you do once in your life; it’s something you probably have to do many times.

It’s funny how certain projects materialize so quickly and can turn out exactly how you want them to turn out… whereas other projects won’t let you bring them to fruition for ages! In retrospect, I’m glad that this song and video took so long because I don’t think the ending would have been sincere had I completed it back then. Plus, releasing it now is my way of saying congrats to Notch and the Mojang team for finishing Minecraft, as well as sending a “thank-you” for making such a fun game that brings out creativity in so many people. I know this video might seem a bit dark or sad, but it’s really supposed to be hopeful. I hope you enjoy it:

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Loved the video. So glad you finally got it done🙂

  2. Loved the song and the music vid! Not to mention the catchy beats and words too🙂 Congrats on finishing the video as well, you did a great job ^_^

  3. Beautiful! I love when you do harmony and go all out.

  4. Hauntingly beautiful song about an awesome game? Love it! You’re positively brilliant.🙂

  5. I really loved this song! I found it on youtube, and I thought it was amazing. Combine that with the stunning animation that Slamacow made and it became a remarkable combination. It’s kinda sad, but it’s a really beautiful piece of music. I’ve enjoyed hearing it many times.
    Finally, I have a question. Since I’m horrible at learning a song by ear, do you happen to have some sheet music available?

  6. Love it! One of your best works.

    Can you upload the piano sheet music? I’d love to play this song at home. :3

  7. Also in desprate need of sheets

  8. Do you have sheet music for Cube Land? My 9-year old son wants to learn it. Please let me know. Thanks!

  9. do you have sheet music for cube land ??? I’d love to play this song at home

  10. Can you release sheet music? I’m trying to make a band arrangement for it.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

