The Rescuers Down Under

October 20, 2011 at 11:44 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

When I was a kid, there were certain movies that just took me away… Miyazaki films definitely fell into that category, as did most films from the Disney Renaissance. One in particular, was The Rescuers Down Under. It’s certainly one of the more lesser known films during that era, but it is one of my favorites. The story is about a boy in Australia who befriends a giant Golden Eagle after rescuing her from a poacher’s trap. Shortly after, the same poacher kidnaps the boy in hopes of getting him to reveal the Golden Eagle’s nest. In order to save him, a team of very brave little mice (Bernard and Miss Biana from the Rescuers Society) travel to Australia and begin searching for him… If you haven’t seen this film, this scene in and of itself makes it worth watching:

The film also had very beautiful music (composed by Bruce Broughton). Here is my piano video tribute. I arranged this when I was around 10 because I fell in love with the film and its score. I’m such a sucker for films where a human befriends an animal or otherworldly creature (Iron Giant, How to Train your Dragon, The Water Horse, etc.)… Anyways, hope you enjoy!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my gosh! I forgot that movie even existed! Now it’s all coming back, The Rescuers Down Under, Fievel Goes West… The early 90s were a good time to be a kid, I guess🙂

    Your arrangement was very sweet – I wish I was doing something so productive when I was 10!

  2. That movie’s consistently undervalued and sometimes even excluded from the “Disney Renaissance,” despite being released between Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast. It had great animation and, as you’ve made clear, an awesome score.

  3. You are not the only one who remembers that movie. It’s certainly got to be one of few that evokes such strong imagery from my memory, undoubtedly due to the great animation. It was a pleasant surprise to see this today!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

