Improv Composition

August 28, 2011 at 5:53 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

We had brunch with my parents today. They were talking about what it would be like to retire on a boat. Apparently some people retire, sell their house, and then live on a cruise ship for the rest of their lives. I’m not sure how I’d feel about that… I think I’d go stir crazy. But I suppose the upside is that there would never be a shortage of really good food. And if you were in the company of nerds, you could play a whole lot of Magic in between ports.

My parents also mentioned that they had seen Immortal Beloved the previous night. My Dad (who loves Classical Music) said that his interpretation of Beethoven’s music changed a bit after watching the film and understanding more about his life. Sometimes I wonder if people like Beethoven and Mozart spent their lives doing everything they could to get into that state where they could be artistic, or if they were just there all the time. When you are there… everything is right. You can hear entire works in your head, all the pieces, all the instruments, they just line up. When you aren’t… it’s a lot harder. It’s like you’re a different person and you’re always trying to get there. You’re always trying to remember what it’s like.

This is video is for my parents. After leaving brunch, George and I got some tea and somehow that sparked so much music in my mind… so I sat down at the piano and started playing. I don’t normally record these sessions because they come and go so quickly. But I caught this one today. I hope you enjoy.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That three minutes of improv felt like a lifetime of music. Great stuff!

  2. It was absolutely wonderful🙂

    really, you are an amazing artist !

  3. Amazing improv composition!😀

  4. Do you have any other recordings of your original piano compositions? I listen to the piano collections from Squaresoft games all the time and this is right up there with that. I would love to hear more.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

