To the Moon and Little Nemo

August 9, 2011 at 5:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Happy Tuesday, everyone! A little while ago I posted a song that I wrote for my fried Kan’s indie game To the Moon. Since then, Kan has made a lot of progress. He’s on track for a projected release date of October, and he just finished a beautiful trailer which I’ll post below. I have to warn you though: if you’re anything like me, you may get a bit teary eyed watching this:

To the Moon is a reverse chronological adventure game that follows two scientists who traverse an old man’s memories in order to fulfill his most important wish. For a more detailed explanation of the game, you can check out DIY’s article, Derek’s write-up on TIGsource, or visit the game’s official website.

The second video I have for you today is a stage-by-stage piano improvisation of the music from Little Nemo the Dream Master, a charming Capcom NES game that I played as a child. My favorite thing about this game was how there were all these different animals that would give you rides if you fed them candy. Besides being cute, taming animals with candy made for a really fun game mechanic. Each animal could access different areas based on their abilities (bees could fly in short bursts, lizards could climb up trees, gorillas could pound your enemies, etc.). If you haven’t played this game (which is likely, given how obscure it was), I strongly recommend checking it out. Here’s to hoping Nintendo brings it to virtual console!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Excellent videos! xD and of course ill be getting this game, it just reminds me a lot of the SNES era, that was the best time to live imo xD

    Love you Laura!!

  2. I feel like when I play that game I might cry way too much.

  3. I kept on tearing up while watching To the Moon, even though I’m not entirely sure why. Freebird Games really knows how to move emotions. Love your song, by the way.

  4. Love your music & song, very neat!

  5. Little Nemo is one of my favorite Nes games I grew up with! Have you checked out the original Winsor McCay Comics that the game is based on? They’re pretty fantastic.

  6. Hi there,

    yesterday I discovered “To the Moon” thanks to a friend of mine, and today I went to the official site and watched the trailer. Looks pretty awesome indeed. The plot is very interesting. It went to my must-buy list immediately.

    But then, I discovered your music and your piano interpretations… and here we are.🙂

    I just want to say that I really enjoy your videos. NES is my favorite console, and I also grew up playing some of this obscure games, one of them being Little Nemo. So I just want to thank you for this great compilation of music from the game. Brings back too many wonderful memories ^__^

    The final boss theme and topsy-turvey were my favourites themes. And night sea! Well, all the music in the game is really good.

    May I request some music? There is this NES game, Faxanadu, which is my favourite game of all times. It had great music by Jun Chikuma, and was a very peculiar adventure game back in the days of the NES. I would greatly appreciate if you could play some music from the game.

    Best regards🙂

  7. Oh my god, that final boss theme (Nemo) piano cover. A;LSDKJF A;LSDKJFAS;D F. Ever since I checked out that song from your “No Yoshi is an Island” post I’ve been trying to figure out how to play it on piano, and I never could get the arpeggios/stuff fast enough for the tempo, hahah. my hands aren’t that nimble x)

    But, DANG. I freaking loved that. Fantastic covers😀😀😀


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

