Strawberry Sandwiches and Ghost Harvest

July 11, 2011 at 6:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 10 Comments

I used to always joke that if I was going to write a book about the “half-Japanese” experience I would name it after the weird fusion meals we ate at home. I think my favorite idea for a title was “Meatloaf With Tonkatsu Sauce” (which is actually rather good). My Dad grew up in Japan and was used to having miso soup and rice with every meal, so most of our meals included those items (even when the main dish was something like meatloaf or pork chops). Perhaps this is the reason I like Yoshoku cuisine so much. Yoshoku is basically Japan’s idea of what western food is like, and it’s often very creative and delicious. Omurice, Hamburg, and Korokke are all examples of Yoshoku food.

But probably my favorite Yoshoku food of all time is the Strawberry Sandwich. As bizarre as it sounds, a Strawberry Sandwich consists of fresh strawberries and whipping cream sandwiched between two slices of white bread. Often it is served alongside other afternoon tea style sandwiches like egg salad or cucumber, and I personally think that iced cocoa compliments it perfectly. Iced cocoa in Japan is quite different from chocolate milk… it’s made the same way that they make hot cocoa in cafes (where they steam the milk and add powdered cocoa to it), but it’s then poured over ice and served with fresh whipped cream on top. Delicious! Anyways, finding a good Strawberry Sandwich outside of Japan is pretty tough, so if you’d like to try it I wrote up an easy recipe which you can find here.

Also, on a completely unrelated note… I decided to post a video today of some music I did for a new iPhone game called “Ghost Harvest.” I wrote it in a style similar to the music I composed for Plants vs. Zombies (Gothic Classical with a bit of modern stuff thrown in), so it translates to the piano pretty well. If you’d like to check out the game, it’s a free app on the iPhone. Here is a link to their iTunes page, and this is their Facebook. Hope you enjoy!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Write about yourself in http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Laura_Shigihara&oldid=439364062 !!!

  2. I tried the Strawberry Sandwiches this weekend and it was very yummy! =D And so easy to make too. Thanks for sharing! ^_^

    • Oh yay, I’m glad you were able to try out the recipe! It seems like a strange thing to put in a sandwich, but they end up being really tasty^^

  3. Here in washington we grow great strawberries so I will defintely try that recipe out now that we are finally seeing the fruits come in good volume!

    Also thanks for the heads up on the iPhone game, I love new distractions! Especially free ones!

    • Washington strawberries are delicious. I tried some when I was visiting my friends and I remember thinking they were sweeter than what I was used to.

  4. Dear Laura!

    I am contacting you from Hungary and I wonder if you got my mail on Friday. Could you please confirm that you received it?

    Thank you indeed in advance,

    Nóra

    • Hi Nora, I did receive your email. I’m sorry I haven’t responded yet, my schedule has been really packed and I was out of town for a bit. I will try to respond this week.

  5. Hi Laura, my name is Katherine.
    I just want to let you know that you have, practically changed my life. I watched the video that you uploaded on youtube where you played the piano version of cerebrawl quite awhile ago. I then made it a mp3 version and put it in my iphone. I have always wanted to learn the piano but I thought I’m too old for it, I am 19, so I just shove the idea off. And one day I was listening to the piano version of cerebrawl that you played, all of a sudden I felt the burning desire to learn the piano. I knew nothing about the piano, but I am taking piano courses now and, though I don’t have a piano yet, I go to the library piano room to practice almost everyday. I really want to thank you for, I dunno, giving me the determination to start my dream. Thanks Laura.

    • Awww, thank-you so much for your comment. I’m really happy to hear that my music has inspired you to start taking piano lessons… it’s never too late to learn, and I think that at 19 you still have plenty of time to pick it up! I have a lot of friends that picked up piano while they were in college, and now they play very well^^ Good luck with everything!

  6. My Chinese wife came up with a metaphor for describing her mom’s cooking now that she’s been in the US with us: “like green tea with milk”.

    We haven’t had that particular item, but I do like the image. And it could taste OK; I might try it sometime.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

