New Original Song and Megaman 5!

June 23, 2011 at 11:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

I’ve got a new video for you this week, which is 90% about a song called “Everything’s Alright” that I wrote for an indie game my friend is currently developing. My friend’s name is Kan Gao (although he also goes by “Reives”), and his game is called “To the Moon.” For those who are interested, here is a link to an interesting gameplay trailer he posted about a year ago.

The other 10% of my video is about how excited I am that Megaman 5 has finally come to virtual console!! Megaman 5 is my favorite game in the Megaman series, and probably my 2nd or 3rd favorite video game of all time. Although it’s quite similar to its predecessors, there were certain things about it that I really fell in love with. It’s very well balanced, the music is wonderful, and the levels had innovative gameplay mechanics that I had never seen before. As cool as VVVVVV is, my first real introduction to a gravity switching platformer stage was in Gravity Man’s level. It was so fun, so satisfying when you could make a perfect run, and so cleverly designed. I should also add that even though I could play almost anything by ear on the piano when I was a kid (including really complicated classical pieces), I could not for the life of me figure out how to play all of the parts in Gravity Man’s stage music… it is one incredible composition.

So here’s my Megaman 5 story: In one of my 7th grade classes we were asked to write a short essay on three of our major lifetime accomplishments. For my first one, I wrote about overcoming claustrophobia by riding an elevator in Circus Circus up and down several times until I wasn’t afraid anymore. I don’t remember my second one, but for my third one I proudly wrote, “Passed Megaman 5.” My teacher had to ask what that was, so I explained to her that it was a Nintendo game that I had played when I was younger. She looked a bit puzzled and replied with, “Wow, that must have been a really great video game.” Yes Mrs. Romines, yes it was.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi Laura! I normally don’t even subscribe to YouTube channels but I made an exception with yours. I really love your work and how kawaii you are and everything lol. I was a bit surprised when I heard you were a big Rockman/Mega Man fan earlier so I gained even more respect for you.

    Mega Man 5 is also one of my favorites! We rented it when it first came out and I was so excited. I wasn’t that good at the games at the time, but I remember having my brother go through Dark Man’s Castle and getting through part of Dr. Wily’s Castle before I got home from school. Then I would resume play from there and try to beat the game lol. Fun times.

    We did eventually beat it.πŸ˜€

  2. Hi Laura. That was a very nice song. I will try and find time to look at your friend’s game.

    I did want to ask, do you have any more information on Play For Japan? If it was released or when it will be?

  3. Nice one, I love megaman tooπŸ™‚ It’s an exciting game, and with exciting music too of courseπŸ™‚

  4. With the Megaman series being so hard, you should be proud to pass any of them! Great job on beating the gameπŸ™‚. And love your musics!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

