Play for Japan and To Far Away Times

April 14, 2011 at 1:44 pm | Posted in Video Games | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Last week I was invited to participate in Akira Yamaoka’s Play for Japan: The Album, which will be released on iTunes at the end of May. The album is going to be a compilation of music created by video game composers from around the world, and all proceeds will be donated to the relief effort in Japan. I can’t tell you how honored I am to be able to help in this way; my favorite game composers, whom I have looked up to since I was a child will also be participating (Yasunori Mitsuda, Nobuo Uematsu, Akira Yamaoka, etc.). I will try my hardest to compose something beautiful for this album, I hope that I can do a good job!

Also, Matt made a request for “To Far Away Times,” and since he’s like the biggest Chrono Trigger fan I know (he even had a job beta testing the original SNES version) I had to fulfill it ^_^ Hope you enjoy!

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ugh, I’ve got shivers down my spine. That was incredibly awesome, a really brilliant rendering of the perfect ending theme to the perfect RPG.
    *applause*

    -JoetheArachnid

    • Thank-you, I’m really glad you liked it ^^

  2. Is this music used in the game chrono trigger? I don’t remember it.. Anyway it’s really beautiful😀

    • Thank-you! Yup, this music is from Chrono Trigger… it only plays at the very end of the game (during the credits sequence).

  3. Congrats congrats congrats!!!

    I could listen to you play Chrono Trigger music all day. Makes me want to sing or play along, and I haven’t played in ages.

    I want to make a request too. hmmm…. I’d love to hear Time Circuits (Enhasa). It always makes me feel at piece. Might have to get you a loop mixer and electronic keyboard though! Actually… ping me about that some time. I have something in the garage.

  4. Congratulations on the P4J thing! You’re a perfect choice as far as I’m concerned🙂 I’d suggest doing something from the Melolune soundtrack (My personal favorite at the moment is the title track, Melolune). I’m sure anything you contribute will be beautiful.

    My favorite CT character was certainly Magus, he flew instead of running! And Spekkio didn’t have anything on Magus! I didn’t get to beta test the game, but if you’re taking requests anyways, I’d love to hear Schala’s Theme, Wind Scene, or The Unstolen Jewel from the sequel, Chrono Cross.

    We haven’t heard a peep out of you in several videos now. I never really noticed how you introduced yourself in every video until you stopped. I hope your voice is ok.

  5. Excellently played, as always! Ahh the music from Chrono Trigger brings back such awesome memories. I’d like to echo Dan’s request, if you are taking requests, for Time Circuits.

    Congradulations on being asked to join Play for Japan! That is excellent! You’ll have to remind us when it releases on iTunes. I’ve no doubt you’ll make something beautiful.

    Let see.. my favorite ChronoTrigger character. That is rather hard. I really liked Lucca when I first played through. And Magus was just cool for being the anti-hero. Frog had the coolest theme music, IMO, even though I didn’t like his character so much (I admit, I’ve never turned him back to human. I kinda feel guilty about this.) Didn’t like Ayla really. So that leaves Marle and Robo. While I’m a fan of the big healers in all RPGs, I think I’m going to stay with Lucca. Geeky girls are awesome.

  6. I really like this for some reason. It just sounds like it’s constantly developing. Good work Laura

  7. WOAHH. WOOOOOOOOAH. You get compose alongside the likes of Nobuo Uematsu?! This is ridiculously awesome, I’m totally gettin that album. :DDDDD congrats!!

    oh, and **curious** is koji kondo doing this too?😀 just wonderin😛

  8. I got to say, this really brought a tear to my eye and actually brought back the memory of first seeing the true ending of CT. Thanks for reigniting that old memory.

    Also, did I hear the “Moon Level” From Duck Tales in that ending? Naw, I must of been imagining it…😛

  9. Listening to this makes me want to play ChronoTrigger again, luckily its being released on VirtualConsole on Monday! (We’ll ignore the fact I have the original SNES version and DS versions allready, I MUST HAVE IT)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

