Melolune Facesets: Dolby’s Animation Test

January 14, 2011 at 1:04 am | Posted in Melolune | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Got another one for ya! Here is the brave and enigmatic Dolby of the Mountain Melon Farms:

Melolune Dolby Animation Test

In other news… is anyone going to GDC this year? I’ll be giving a couple talks there. One is a panel on audio in casual games, and the other is a panel given by the Plants vs. Zombies team. I’ve got to work on slides for those this week; I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do for them yet but hopefully I’ll figure something out😛

I always encourage people to attend to GDC if they’re interested in getting into the video game industry because it’s a great opportunity to learn and meet folks (and some of the talks are really interesting). Satoru Iwata (the president of Nintendo) is going to be the keynote speaker this year. The conference is pretty expensive, but if you apply early enough you can go for free as a volunteer, which I’ve been told is a fun and rewarding experience (you still get to attend a lot of talks and there’s plenty of free time to talk to people and browse the showroom floor).

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Really nice animation! Greetings!😀

    • Thank-you! It’s so nice to see what they look like when they speak… it really brings them to life!

  2. I am not going to GDC. Sadly my vacation time limits me to only a certain amount of cons outside my regional area and SF is definitely not my regional area. Be sure to tell us if you hear anything interesting there though!

    And the animations are looking good!

    • I’ll definitely let you know if anything cool happens there! This year I’m gonna try and post more updates from the conference, especially if I’m able to take notes with useful tips and stuff.

  3. Great updates! I hope the game is progressing well🙂

    • Thanks Piccolo! That reminds me that I need to post more of the animation tests…

  4. The facesets looks great! I’ll be at GDC, I’ll be sure to try to say “Hello”.

    • Awesome, it’ll be nice to meet you! I was just reading up on the sessions today and I’m so pumped about the Classic games talks… there’s actually one dedicated to Maniac Mansion!

  5. Hello, I sent you an email a few weeks ago with some suggestions for Melolune but I think it never reached your inbox since I haven’t received any reply from you😦

    Here’s what I wrote:

    “First of all I’d like to say that I admire your work (you’re so talented!) and that I absolutely love the Plants VS Zombie’s song that plays at the end of the game🙂

    But the reason why I’m sending you this email is because I’ve been reading about your RPG game, Melolune, and it looks fantastic to me. I haven’t played the demo yet but by what I’ve read so far it has a very deep story (which’s one of my favorite things on RPG games!) and it seems that its characters are very emotionally connected to one another.

    Also, I’ve listened to some of its songs and they’re gorgeous! So here’s my suggestion: try to get some programmers to port it to the iPhone🙂

    Really, it could be some indie ones or you could even contact some big developers like Gameloft, Square Enix, Activison Mobile, etc and show them your game to see if they could port it to the mobile world, because in my opinion this game would be great to be played on mobile devices, specially the iPhone. Since it has beautiful but simple 2D graphics I think people would be more interested to play it on their phones rather than on their PCs.

    I’ll certainly buy it if it ever gets released on the App Store!

    Keep up the good work🙂

    Hugs from Brazil

    Rafael S. Nunes”

    • Hi Rafael, thank-you for your message ^_^ I actually do have plans to release Melolune on iPhone through a Japanese company that helps with porting games. I’m not sure when the release date will be, but I’ll definitely keep you updated!

  6. Hello, Ms. Laura. I’m one of your not-so-very active fans and supporters and also a not-so-very-active stalker here [in your website]. xD

    I just wanted to say, I am in love with your music AND your game! I’m really itching to play the full version of Melolune. Oh, the suspense… I really couldn’t get enough of it (I’m an avid RPG gamer)! Keep it up!

    And as for the animation tests, UWAH. They all look SO good! The artist did a FANTASTIC job here indeed! I can just imagine playing the demo again, with these awesome animation faces! Hnngh, so cool… Perhaps you could actually do that? Same demo version (or latest update?), only this time, with these current animations? It would be enough to satisfy my gaming girl spirit before I get to play the full version. Would you? * A*

    Thank you for reading this, and may good luck be with you! ^_^

    • Hi witchygirl, thank-you for your comment! I’m really happy to hear that you like my music and game, and I’ll definitely pass your comment along to the faceset artist as well ^_^ I’m not 100% sure yet if I’ll be able to integrate the animated faces into the dialogue, but I would really love to. There are probably tens of thousands of dialogue instances that I’d have to go back and add code to if I were to add the animations, but I can’t help but think it would add so much if people could actually see the characters “talk”… so I’ll try my best!

  7. T_T I wanna go to GDC!! Can’t though… Got school and stuff. Do you go to any other conventions? Say like, Sand Diego Comic Con, Anime Expo, Fanime, E for All, Blizzcon, or any other California based conventions? Also, I’m loving the animation test! How far are you along in the creation of Melolune?

  8. Nice animation, I played the demo of your game it was great. The music was also amazing. I have not played a role playing game that has such a great atmosphere in years. I am always amazed when I see indie developers build such huge games.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

