Melolune Facesets: Achaius’ Animation Test

January 12, 2011 at 1:07 am | Posted in Melolune | 20 Comments
Tags: , ,

Melolune Faces

A couple years ago, my friend Hima asked if I’d write an ending theme song for “U.S.G. ~A New Beginning,” so I wrote “Starshine” in exchange for help with the faceset art in Melolune. I can’t tell you how excited I was when I received them a few weeks ago! I still have to send him my sketches for Sophie and Liele, but besides that, the faces are pretty much finished! Piti (his artist) did such a great job; he was able to improve them so much, but still somehow maintain the original style of my sketches.

Since they all have a number of different expressions, I decided to play around in Photoshop tonight. Here is Achaius’ animation test:

Melolune Achaius Animation Test

I’ll probably post some more animation tests later… especially once I get Sophie and Liele in the mix. I can’t tell you how fun and rewarding it is to finally see my characters come to life like this ^_^

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awesome *-* Great work!๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thank-you!

  2. Whoa! That’s pretty good for just messing around in Photoshop! I think the faceset turned out quite well!๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks! It’s so nice to finally have polished faceset art in the game.

  3. Wow nice… the effect of these animations is very strong and significant:D Will these animations be implemented in the game Melolune? I’m so excited for the Melolune to be released.

    • Thank-you! I’m not quite sure if they’ll be implemented into all the in-game dialogue boxes (since there’s thousands of instances that I’d have to go back and code if I wanted to add animation), but I want to try and find a way to work it into the game somehow๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Oh, Laura… If you see this message, can you check your GMail inbox or your YouTube PM please? Is important for me๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Hi Alberto, I do remember your message (I apologize if I’m not able to respond quickly, I’ve gotten to the point where I am unable to respond to all the emails I receive, even though I wish I could!).

      But thank-you for taking the time to write me that email, unfortunately even though I’d love to help you out (and I wish you lots of luck with your gaming community!), I don’t think I’ll be able to make custom music for you at this time. But as long as you make sure to give credit, you are more than welcome to use any of the music I’ve posted at my website.

      • Hi Laura! I’m really glad you found the time to answer me, I was afraid you had not seen the messages that I sent you, so please excuse me if I pestered you lately.
        However, I understand, for the moment there’s no problem with the music, but I’d really like to advertise you on my website, and I would be really honored if we could have any kind of collaboration๐Ÿ™‚ maybe when you have more time we’ll talk better. ^_^

        Thank you so much for giving me permission to use your songs! I’ll try to do the best advertisement for you wherever I and my Community will have the opportunity to advertise, even for your songs, and also for Melolune, and anything else that concerns you๐Ÿ™‚ In short, in our official Forum, will be the sections of “World of Warcraft” and “Melolune”, with all the updates about it!๐Ÿ™‚ If you want to take yourself to inaugurate it with me, I’d be more than honored!๐Ÿ˜€

        Thank you again for your response SunFlower! I hope one day to do something with you.๐Ÿ™‚

        Sincerely

        Alberto =^_^=

  5. Ah! You are still working on this!

    Not that I had too much doubt, but it’s great to see all this progress! The graphics are beautiful!

    Can’t wait to play more of this game and hear more of its music. :3

    • Thank-you, yup still working on it ^_^ I actually had a lot of work stuff come up this past month so I wasn’t able to spend as much time working on it as I had wished. But I’ll keep on going until it’s done!

  6. Melolune looks like it’s progressing nicely. How are things going with it? The characters look really colorful, and I definitely am looking forward to the finished product. Good job Laura!

    • Thanks Davixus! Things were going great until this past month, haha… I had a lot of stuff come up with work/life that made it harder for me to devote a lot of time to it, but I think I’m back on track again. I’m working on the last area in the game and adding little musical puzzles here and there to make the earlier dungeons more interesting. I’m also trying to figure out what to do for the final boss battle!

  7. We need more regular Melolune updates!

    • Haha, I’ll try my best! I hope to have more frequent updates this month ^_^

  8. The new facesets are awesome!๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thank-you, I’m glad you like them!

  9. After playing the Game U.S.G a new beginning, your song brought tears to my eyes.

    the song was both beautiful and meaningful. i must say the Bridge of the song was the best part.

    all the best for Melolune. may the fragments of songs reach the heart of the people.

    • Wow, that’s such a great compliment… thanks so much for telling me that ^_^ I’m really happy that you enjoyed the song, and I also hope that Melolune’s songs will resonate with people. I’ll try my best!

  10. Man, I’m just itching to play the full game! I love how the character looks nearly the same as the original! The difference is like the conversion of VHS to BluRay, lol! I am gonna miss the older face sheets, though… There’s just something about that hand drawn look that really… I dunno… “connects” I suppose? Those older drawings really grew on me.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

