Thug Santa Minecraft

January 3, 2011 at 3:41 pm | Posted in Video Games | 15 Comments
Tags: , ,

A few weeks back Dylan introduced us to the wonderful world of private multi-player servers on Minecraft. It was the first time I’d played in months (I had previously sworn off Minecraft after losing several hours worth of goods to an untimely spider and skeleton related death deep in an unnavigable mine shaft). After deciding it was okay for me to play again, Dylan showed us around his private server (which was incredible, I can’t even imagine how long it took them to build that snow fortress), and then invited us to try out a separate server.

We start messing around and building random things when suddenly, in the midst of building a giant “Oooo Cocoon” statue, George starts getting attacked by some invisible force. It keeps harassing him while he’s trying to work, and finally manages to kill him and take all his items. Once George gets back from the spawn point, the invisible force then gives all his items back. We couldn’t figure out what was going on, so we started joking around in the chat window about how it was an invisible Thug Santa… he comes to kill you and then gives you presents. Dylan finally figured out that it was his brother Jordan, who was exploiting a bug that lets you come back as invisible once you die… So to keep him from attacking us, he imprisoned Jordan in an Obsidian jail.

Believing that we were now safe, I started building a house. But then I get the message from Dylan, “Jordan’s escaped, be careful!” At this point I’m a bit afraid because I’m expecting some invisible force to come and kill me in the dark… but when I turn around, I see this coming towards me (click to enlarge for full-effect):

Jordan actually went and found a Santa avatar so he could come and chase us with it. Believe me, getting chased by a freaky lego Santa Claus carrying a diamond sword in the dark is nothing short of frightening. When he finally caught up with me, he threw coal at me!!

And for those who have no idea what I’m talking about, I strongly recommend checking out this game. Remember how as a kid you could play with legos or blocks or dollhouses, and it was endlessly fun and creative? Minecraft feels just like that. Despite looking like a blocky cube world, it somehow manages to touch upon some fundamental aspect of human nature… and the interesting thing is that it seems to engage people in an amazing variety of ways. My one piece of advice is to watch this video before playing, it teaches you how to survive the first night:

As for the first screenshot, Dylan gave me a bunch of gear which I thought was for the purpose of defending myself against Thug Santa Jordan… it was actually so he could hold a 1-on-1 arena match in the pit he had just built.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ah, Minecraft! I remember that night, it was hilarious. I think we were calling him “Thug Santa” at one point

    • Oh you’re right! It was “Thug Santa” haha… I’m gonna go change it😄

  2. You are so cute Laura, this is my new favorite Minecraft story.

    I thought was for the purpose of defending myself against Thug Santa Jordan… it was actually so he could hold a 1-on-1 arena match in the pit he had just built.

    LOL that is hilarious, so you actually dualed Thug Santa in a pit?

    • Yes I had to dual Thug Santa in a pit, haha… I think at some point we also had to fight him all at once😛

  3. I was so addicted to Minecraft last month. I remember the first time I found diamond; It happened after a 3 hour dig directly underneath my home. I don’t think I’ve been that excited over something in a video game in a long time. Anyways, I love your posts Laura, you seem like such a fun person.

    • Thanks Adam🙂 I totally know what you mean… I spent hours digging out this crazy mine shaft a few months back, and to finally see diamond after all that digging was so exciting!

  4. That’s hilarious. I had a friend come over and show me minecraft one day. It looked like so much fun. Way too much fun. I’m trying to be good and not spend all my time playing video games (hence why I don’t play WoW too often) and Minecraft would just sink all my time completely I’m sure of it.

    Are you going to play more on your friend’s server? You should post screenshots of anything fun you build. That way I can play vicariously through you.😉

    It sounds like multiplayer has gotten dangerous. Last time I played you couldn’t attack people on servers… or rather you didn’t have health on servers.

    • Ah, you must’ve played before survival mode then. Survival mode is by far my favorite… you can still be creative and build anything you want, but you also have this added drive to collect and build in order to stay alive. It kind of feels like when you’re a kid and you’re building a fort in the backyard… I love that feeling and I sort of thought I’d never be able to experience it again.

      I wouldn’t worry too much about Minecraft stealing all your time… Despite the fact that it can cause you to sink several hours in one sitting, after you finish your current self-imposed project it’s pretty easy to step away (unlike with WoW where there are things built into the game to keep drawing you back; like raids, your guild, etc.). But I’ll try to post more screenshots… I built this really cool greenhouse (my main obsession is structures built from glass, hehe) ^_^

      • My friend who showed me the game played on a private server where he was very specifically “glassing” an entire island. I think he called it the arctic or something since it looked like it was covered in snow. It was awesome.

        • Whoa, glassing an entire island?? That’s so nuts!

  5. Wow! That would freak me out for sure!

    I’ve Never played Minecraft but I can’t tear a friend away from it! It’s close to impossible to get him on Garry’s Mod now xD

    • Haha, yeah it’s crazy how much the game just sucks you in! During one of my Minecraft binges I managed to stay up until it was light outside because I was so focused on finishing the skylight in my cave-house, haha… But now I’m a lot more careful when I play😛

  6. Wow! I’m sold.
    I think I need to invest time in playing Minecraft.
    Looks like so much fun!

    • It is a lot of fun, I hope you enjoy it!

  7. oh wow, I’d love to see some of the stuff you manage to build, Laura! After finally having upgraded my computer a month ago, it’s finally minecraft worthy, and I had JUST gotten into the real meat of it last night. (before that, I was frustrated, running around punching trees, rocks, and dirt, trying to figure out how anything works in the game. Then I saw the tutorial. lol.)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

