Videogame Music DVD and Darkspore

November 20, 2010 at 5:30 pm | Posted in Video Games | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This is for all of you video game music fans out there: My friend Jeriaska (a journalist at Gamasutra who is known for his fantastic video game composer interviews) is putting together a DVD series filled with interviews of famous composers such as Nobuo Uematsu (Final Fantasy), Akira Yamaoka (Silent Hill), Hip Tanaka (Metroid), Daisuke Amaya (Cave Story) and many others.

I’m personally really excited about this because so many of these composers have been such great inspirations to me, so it’s fun to hear them talk about what inspires them and how they work. Jeriaska has set up a Kickstarter to help fund this DVD project, so if anyone is interested in checking that out, here is the link!

And for those folks who have been following Darkspore’s development: Our friends Dan Kline and Paul Sottosanti from EA Maxis did a fun co-op walkthrough of Cryos. The ice bridge that appears around 5 minutes into it looks so awesome!

Lastly… if for some reason you didn’t receive an add or invite to the Google Groups I started last week, here is a link to that ♫. Although anyone can sign up, due to Google restrictions I am unable to personally add all the people who contacted me over the last couple years about the PvZ soundtrack (but you can sign up yourself, there is no restriction for that). Unfortunately, I was only able to get a few hundred on there out of a few thousand, but I’ll keep adding to it as Google lets me. So if you get a chance, feel free to sign up — I’d love to have you on there!

I just learned the ASCII code for these connected eighth notes: ♫ Haha… I know it’s not that exciting, but for some reason I think it’s so cool. There are going to be musical notes everywhere now.

♫♫♫

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I heard the final fantasy songs on my nintendo gameboy and its cool

  2. These interviews really sound cool. I spent a good portion of my childhood listening to cassettes I had made from games some of these guys did. It’s funny when I look back and realize how influential that music has been on me – without it I wouldn’t have started composing, wouldn’t have studied music, wouldn’t be in my current career or living where I am… It’s kind of amazing.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

