Doo bee doo bee

October 4, 2010 at 1:48 am | Posted in Video Games | 26 Comments
Tags: , ,

Thank-you Pokute for pointing me towards TotalHalibut’s recent video! I had heard from the folks at PopCap that the “singing sunflower” pet would have new art at some point, but I had no idea it had already been implemented until I saw the video this evening… I have to admit, it’s pretty hilarious:

Several years ago George told me I reminded him of Gir from Invader Zim… after watching this video now I know exactly what he’s talking about, haha😛

26 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I fell from the chair, once again. You just made my day, thank you xD

    • Haha, I’m glad I could help! (not the chair falling part, but the day part of course :P)

  2. LOL “Doo bee doo bee doo bee doo bee”…”Help me”.

    The pet sounds really awesome🙂 Good work Laura

    • Hehe, thanks🙂 I hope folks will like it! I can’t wait to play Cataclysm, hehe

  3. epic cutenes will hunt us all D:

  4. That is cute! I want one!

    And now I totally want to hear you do a Gir impression. I’ve only recently been able to watch Invader Zim (I’m about half way through the series now). And the idea of you sounding like him amuses me.

    • Haha… prior to George telling me that he thought I behaved like Gir, I had never watched Invader Zim so I had no idea what he was talking about… But now I understand — I think I kind of act as though I’m in another world sometimes, and without realizing it I’ll be “beeping” and “bopping” random tunes as I walk around. And apparently I get random waffle cravings😛

      • Waffles huh? What about tacos? 8) At least you can say that you have your own style! ‘sides, once you are famous enough, all your little quirks will just be written off as you being “eccentric”.😉

  5. That was adorable. Well since a the videos are out now, what else does the sunflower say? How was the recording process? did you do a lot of takes?

    • Here’s another video with more sound bites, but it was recorded before the art was updated.

      So cute I’m pinching my own face…

      • Ah, thanks! After seeing this one I’m really glad that they decided to do custom art for the pet… it’s really neat seeing a sunflower walking around with the body of the “Sinister Squashling” pet that you can get around Halloween🙂

    • The recording process was really smooth — since I have a home studio, I just recorded a variety of takes and sent them over to PopCap who then sent them to Blizzard. Since they had asked for some doo-bee-doos (to the tune of “Zombies on your Lawn”), I just gave them a bunch of those, a couple takes where I sang the first line of the chorus of the song, a couple “sunflower” ones, and some nonsense sounds, hehe… nothing too elaborate😛

  6. I believe the only word that works for this is kawaii🙂

    • Hehe, I like how the sunflower looks like she’s chasing him around😛

  7. It stares right into the soul.

    • It does! Haha😛 It’s funny because on the 3D model if you look at it from the side, only the eyes protrude from the face.

  8. So CUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUTE

  9. Doom doom doom doom doomedy doom Sunflower.😀

    • Hahaha… +100 points for the Gir reference😛 Moosey Fate!!!

  10. Very cute and nice.:D

    • Thanks Vince!

  11. This is very awesome and hilarious. That would almost make me buy Wow🙂

  12. Heyhey again:
    here some screenshots from the pvz mini game on the live servers I made yesterday and today.

    Really great =) was very amusing to find it there, and the singing sunflower is the sweetest pet ever!!
    lg, Sebastian

  13. Last night, I was working on my Stormwind Dailies. I’m enveloped in silence while I’m swimming around in the SW Canals in search of live crabs for Robby Flay. All of sudden, “Doo bee doo bee doo” blasts out of my speakers scaring the crap out of me! It literally made me jump out of my seat. Anyway, love the blood elf video and the sunflower wouldn’t be great without you being her voice.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

