Melolune piano version series #1

September 29, 2010 at 12:57 am | Posted in Melolune piano version series, Video Games | 7 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Hi everyone! I guess I was in sort of a musical mood tonight or something, because after I finished Rigor Mormist I felt like recording some stuff from Melolune. And that led to me thinking I should start a Melolune piano version series as well, since there’s so much music from it that I want to share with you guys ^_^ So… for #1 I’ll start with these:

Although I’m sure a lot of you have heard it already, the original version of “Carya de Mio” actually has lyrics… it’s a lullaby that one of the main characters’ mothers used to sing to him when he was a child. You hear it during a scene when he’s reflecting on all of the good things she did during her lifetime. His last memory of her was when she asks him to recall the lullaby right before she passes away… she explains that the lullaby is “sung during dark times to help us remember that even when things are looking dim, we try to be full of light… that perhaps some of our light, would help to make someone else’s world a little brighter.” She hopes that she shined enough light onto him that he would lead a good life as well.

I put it up the original song on my bandcamp page (the player is below), but you can download it for free as well using this link. I hope you enjoy it ^_^

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Carya de Mio sounds great. It reminds me of a classical march, with the harmonies and especially how each phrase resolves. If you don’t mind me asking, what kind of character is this song about?

    Anyways, great job with the music Laura🙂 looking forward to Melolune

    • Thank-you🙂 Well, the original song is actually a lullaby that one of the character’s mothers sings to him when he’s a child… His mother is a very kind person, and despite her troubles she always tried to be a light to those in need (as well as shine light into her son’s life). So the song is less about the character (Dominic) and more about his relationship with his mother and what he learned from her while she was still alive… hopefully I explained that okay😛

  2. More great music, albeit not new song, but your music is great as usual. I can’t wait for Melolune to be completed, because I know it will have tons of fun places to explore, great sidequests, and astounding music. Do you have an estimate of when that would be?

    • Thank-you Cheesey — my hope is to have the game finished by the end of the year if all goes well. Wish me luck!

  3. hey Laura

    i know this is something that you have heard a lot but i still feel the need to say so. from the time i played PVZ and learn of your talent in songs after defeating the last boss in PVZ, i cannot express the hype when i know that you are actually making a game base of music.

    rest assure that even now, i am still hype and is looking forward in playing Melolune.

    but a friendly reminder which i hope you can bear in mind is that, wanting to complete the game for your fans and yourself is important. but rest is also important. never take rest for granted as it is the only time where you can reflect and recover.

    all the best🙂

    • Thank-you Edmund, I’m really happy that you enjoyed the PvZ music and are looking forward to Melolune… I’ll try my best to stay the course and finish the game soon! And I definitely agree that rest is important… I learned that lesson after hurting my wrist at the beginning of the year from working for too many consecutive hours, and for too long without taking breaks ^_^; So nowadays I try to be more careful🙂

  4. Eclipse and Starlight’s 1:44 reminded me a lot of “Merry-go-round of Life”🙂.

    Your compositions are amazing😛.
    Regards.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

