Piano themes

July 25, 2010 at 9:50 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 25 Comments

Just a quick post to let you guys know that I uploaded a bunch of piano improv videos tonight! I wanted to finish a bunch all at once because I suspect next week is going to be super busy. Lots of work to take care of… and something special happening on August 2nd, hee hee😛

天空の城ラピュタ (Laputa)
You can hear this theme shortly after Pazu and Sheeta land on the island.
もののけ姫 (Mononoke Hime)
This is the main theme from the movie.
Dyluck’s theme (Secret of Mana)
You can actually only hear this theme twice in the entire game I believe… once after defeating Elinee, and once after you reach Thanatos at the end of the game… I’ve always loved this piece even though it makes me feel sad.

25 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your piano skills are so wonderful! and august 2nd? THAT’S SO SOON! why must you toy with us?😛

    • Thank-you… I wish I was better at sight reading and technical stuff though (my ear is much better than my sight reading)!

  2. How awesome! Dyluck’s Theme is definitely my favorite of the above, as Secret of Mana is near the top of, if not at the top of, my favorite games list both for the game itself and the Soundtrack (which I listen to often)!

    • I agree that the soundtrack is incredibly beautiful… there are some themes that I’ve never figured out how to play on the piano because they’re so complex (like Flammie’s 3rd theme for example… it’s so fast-paced and exciting). The music is quite nostalgic for me as well; I have good memories playing that game with friends on 3-player mode. We never wanted to stop playing because it was so much fun!

  3. Yeh, I REALLY REALLY REALLY hope there will be a Plants vs Zombies 2😀

    • I hope so too!

  4. hmm.. something special will happen at august 2 .. how intriguing..🙂

    • 😉

      • I bet I know just what that something is…

        I hope I’m not wrong. But I won’t spoil my thoughts for anyone. Might as well wait and see…

  5. Thumbs up/Like on your piano videos! And what’s this?! Zombies are leaving our backyards and off to San Francisco for vacation?! SWEET!!

    • Thank-you Joseph🙂 Haha… you know how zombies are, they just love San Francisco!

      • About time. Crazy Dave could use a break too! :p

  6. Aww, can’t listen to the last song ><

    • Sorry about that! I kept deleting and re-uploading the last one because for some reason youtube was messing up its resolution😦 I still haven’t figured out how to fix it, but as soon as I do I’ll put it back again… thank-u for trying to check it out though🙂

  7. August 2 . . Why does everything good happen on August :)).
    Nice piano pieces btw🙂

    • What other good things happen in August?

      • Well, it’s kind off opinionated, since for us over here, August is kind of the calm before the storm, so most of us people just do some partying and resting before we have our quarterly tests🙂. But that’s basically it😛. Anyway, I really enjoyed especially the piano version of Carya de Mio, I wish you luck as you begin to finish Melolune as well ;)! Take care Laura!

  8. You seem to like Studio Ghibli a lot :3
    Is there any chance for any of the latest songs that you posted here to end up as a mp3 or something better?

    • Perhaps, I can try to record them sometime!

  9. Great Music once again Laura. Mononoke Hime is one of my favorite piano pieces. Kinda miss the “Hi everyone, I’m Laura Shigihara” intro though🙂

    So…Something interesting on Aug 2… Too bad I won’t be in the area😦

    • Ah, sorry about that🙂 A few people had mentioned that it’d be nice if they could see more of the piano keys when I play, so I tried turning the iPhone horizontally. But in order to do this, I have to pull the phone back a lot so it doesn’t tip over the edge… and it makes it so the camera can’t see my face when I lean in to do the “Hi everyone” part (only the very top of my head, haha)😛 If only I could edit iPhone videos I’d try to put a little intro in again.

  10. SO… MUCH… NOSTALGIA…
    Why do you do this to us, Shigi? 何でさ。

    You mentioned you do all these by ear? That’s pretty impressive. I’m actually more the opposite – sight reading and technique comes somewhat naturally to me, but even after all these years it takes me hearing the song a lot of times before I can improv.

    As it turns out, the special day has to fall smack dab in the middle of summer term finals for me. Blerghbrainsargh.

  11. What’s happening today?! It’s the 8:34 in the morning here! rawr~!😄

  12. Aug 2nd is almost gone. What has happened today?

  13. HEY SHIGIHARA. I have two requests. I wan’t you to make an xat. never heard of it? http://xat.com/ go there and sign up to get an xat. and finally, where are the pplz selling the xbox 360 version of PvZ? That’s all!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

