Girls in the Video Game Industry #1: Tammy Tsuyuki

July 6, 2010 at 6:34 am | Posted in Girls in the Video Game Industry interview series | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

As promised, this week I’m going to be posting a short interview series on girls who work in the video game industry… it was fun interviewing these awesome ladies, and I’m happy to be able to share their responses with you.  I also want to say a big “thank-you” to everyone who checked out the live version of “Zombies on Your Lawn.”  I was absolutely amazed at the response (it’s up to 150,000 views now!), and I really appreciate everyone who subscribed, favorited it, or spread the word somehow.  You guys are great! Anyways, without further ado, here is the first interview:

———-

Girls in the Video Game Industry#1: Tammy Tsuyuki
Music Producer at Sony Playstation

If you’ve played Uncharted 2 and enjoyed its wonderful soundtrack, then you’re already familiar with some of Tammy’s contributions to the industry. A member of Sony Playstation since 1999, Tammy works as a Music Producer to help coordinate soundtrack distribution and manage projects. Besides organizing killer game soundtracks, she also works as a personal style consultant.

1.) Can you tell us a bit about your job?

I’m a Music Producer for Sony PlayStation. I handle coordination and distribution of our soundtracks. What that means is that I help pull together the production, artwork, marketing support, and schedules for our game soundtracks that are released on the PSN, in stores and on iTunes. I also work closely with the Music team as a project manager on our products helping to support the team with budgets, risk, and project tracking.

2.) How did you get into the video game industry?

My good friend actually submitted my resume for an opening position in the Audio Department. My first job was in 1999, I learned so much about the industry from the ground up. I was fortunate to witness the launch of the PS2, PSP, PS3, and the PSPgo and be part of that great experience of building a brand.

3.) What are some of your favorite games?

My favorite games are those that I can play with my daughter. Like LBP, can’t wait till the sequel hits the shelves soon. We also like playing SingStar, Buzz and LocoRoco.

4.) What were some of your favorite projects to work on and why?

I loved working on Uncharted 2 because Greg Edmonson is such a class act and the score was brilliant. Getting to witness how Amy Hennig worked and how her robust story line fused together with the music was phenomenal. When the awards started coming in for Uncharted 2 this past year, I was really proud to have been associated with that game.

5.) What are your thoughts on being a female in the video game industry?

I think that the game has changed a lot in the last ten years. I see women leading companies, driving innovation, and in greater leadership positions. I enjoy that as a younger industry, the rules were written a bit differently for us luckily. I think that we’re more open-minded than some more established ones and it’s worked in women’s favor. The women that I’ve met and known throughout the years are inspirational and supportive. I feel like as a woman in this industry, it would be something I would like to pay forward.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Interesting! I didn’t really even know personal style consultants existed. Uncharted was a really fun game and I remember the music for it being awesome.

    And I wish I could take credit helping you out on YouTube! I was actually surprised when a friend of mine brought it up at our tabletop game as “That hilarious video of a girl playing piano of PvZ and the guy jumping around in the background”. I did explain to them that you were the composer and that they should check out your other videos too, though.

    • I actually didn’t know about personal style consultants before Tammy either😛 But I know she’s really good (and I’ve only gone shopping with her once before)!

      That’s cool about your friends mentioning the video; when stuff like that happens I always think “it’s a really small world”… Thank-you very much for suggesting they check out my other videos, I appreciate that!

  2. What a cool job, Tammy! I enjoyed the music from Uncharted 2, so it was fun getting to read a little bit about the behind the scenes stuff from you.

  3. I like LBP too! My son and I have spent so much time playing that together🙂

  4. Thank-you for sharing your experiences with us, Tammy🙂 Do you have any advice for other women about getting started in the video game industry? I’ve always been curious about that field since I do like video games a lot, but it seems a bit like the entertainment industry (hard to break into).

    • Thanks for the great comments Nojh, Tasha and Becca! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the interview. Needless to say one of the perks is meeting wonderfully talented composers like Laura🙂

      Daniella, I would definitely seek out internship positions to see what you would like to focus on-if you get a bit clearer about which aspect of the industry you enjoy (Game Audio, Marketing, Online community manager, to name a few) it will really help.

      • Aww, thanks Tammy🙂 I’m happy I got to meet you too!

  5. Great, now I want to be a video game composer. I enjoyed the soundtrack to Uncharted 2. 🙂

  6. We’ll keep spreading the word Laura! I mentioned your video on my Facebook and Twitter… everyone here loves it! You and George are hilarious!

    And to Tammy, that’s a really interesting point about the video game industry still being young and therefore more “open-minded.” I know in some other industries women face a lot of sexism in the higher up positions which is a shame.

    • Thanks Angie, I think the culture here breeds creativity no matter who it comes from which is rare.

  7. Awesome Job Tammy! It’s really cool you organize great soundtracks and at the same time, are a personal style consultant, this is the first time I’ve heard of such a mix, and I must say, it is pretty interesting! Kudos to you Tammy, hope you continue your wonderful jobs!

    • Thanks Stephen, just follow your passions-whatever weird and wonderful combination that they may turn out to be!

  8. Great job! It sounds like you have a really great job and you are dedicated, too. How do you like working for Sony Playstation? Is it stressful at times?

    • Hi Sheila! I enjoy working at PlayStation. The people are great and I’ve formed some lasting friendships over the years. As with the nature of production, things get busy here but the stress levels are mostly tempered by the fact that we know it’s cyclical. The nature of the score production has a normal arc that occurs.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

