How to stop youtube from changing the resolution of your iPhone videos | Final Fantasy VI Piano Music

June 19, 2010 at 2:18 am | Posted in Video Games | 23 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Earlier today I decided to record a video of some piano improv for the opera theme from Final Fantasy VI (I love that music… the one where Celes is pretending to be Maria, where the vocals are done by this wonderfully cheesy SNES synth).

But then after I uploaded it to youtube, I noticed that the top and bottom part got cut off… for some reason youtube was changing the resolution. I deleted it and reuploaded it a bunch of times, and tried to search for a way to fix it, but I couldn’t really find anything. The weird thing is that I never had that problem with any of my other iPhone videos, so I think youtube made that change just today. So for anyone out there who is experiencing this: if you upload the video directly from your iPhone then it will solve the problem.

Anyways… here is the video: Aria di Mezzo Carattere from Final Fantasy VI🙂

23 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ahhhh! Now that is one of my favorite songs. It almost made me go into music when I was a kid. I remember trying to recreate it on any piano or keyboard I could find even before I knew anything about music.

    Thank you.

    • That’s so cool that a video game song made you want to get into music🙂 When I was younger I always tried to show people how great video game music was… I think it was hard for them to believe me because they just thought of it as “beeps”… but to me I felt like some VGM had really excellent composition.

  2. nice music

    • Thank-you🙂

  3. I remember trying to play that song among others on Mario Paint with less then desirable results. That one and the song in the town of Zozo

    • Ah, Zozo! That town was so frustrating, but yet so funny and weird. I remember being all disoriented about which building I was in and where, and right when I was about to get my bearings I’d be ambushed by a random battle. I was so happy when I finally got through it🙂 I do like the music there, it’s quirky and matches the feel of the crazy people.

  4. I don’t know much about iphones, but if it’s possible you could try rotating the screen by 90 degrees in it. If it’s not possible, I suggest using virtualdubmod on your pc to modify the video. Either way it’s not that important, because in these videos the most important thing is the sound (although we love to see your cute face at the beginning every time xD).

    • That’s a good idea too… I had downloaded this one app (I think it’s just called “Rotate Video”) to fix the iPhone rotation problem a while back. The only thing is that if I record the videos vertically (which is the easiest way to capture the keyboard without the phone falling off, hehe), then the video would be sideways if I rotate it. But I’ll check that out and see what I can do… thanks Jax ^_^

  5. The title is Italian right? I love Italian… They say Italian is easier than English, but after a while taking on Italian I think the opposite…😛

    About the video, no idea, I don’t have anything to record in the first place and also I don’t know why I even signed up for youtube!

    I’ve been noticing, you’ve been wearing the same dress from the previous video, isn’t it😀, just saying😛

    • And btw, I can’t find the song “Traces” anywhere, on the Melolune site it said File not found😐

      • Oh yikes! It seems that the ocf server is down again (that’s the place that hosted my old website, which is where I uploaded a bunch of songs before)… thanks for reminding me, I should probably reupload songs like Traces somewhere else.

        • You might wanna try dropbox.com. It’s free to use online hard drive which has a public folder without any limits, at least I wasn’t able to reach any with mine. You don’t have to install any software to use it (they will encourage you to do so though), everything can be done with just few clicks.

    • Hehe, someone else asked that too… it’s the same skirt, but it’s a different shirt (I actually have 3 of those shirts… I really liked them, and since they were on sale I picked up a couple extra). As for the other videos, I recorded them all on the same day😛

      The Melolune title song is actually supposed to be sung in the language of the “ancient Ciroans” from my game (so it’s not a real language). But you’re right that it does sound very Italian! I think some of the syllables are similar🙂

      • Your piano pieces are as beautiful as ever. That Youtube-Bug sound weird though. I wonder why uploading a video from an iPhone would make a difference. Does it happen to your earlier videos, too?

        For me, the Melolune title sounded like a mixture of Italian and Japanese. ^^ Do you have the lyrics somewhere?

        And btw, Shigi, does your E-Mail address supershigi@gmail.com work or do you want me to send my Melolune bugreports somewhere else?

        • Thanks Squall🙂 Yeah, it is a strange bug… it didn’t happen with my earlier videos even though I recorded and uploaded them in the exact same way. I haven’t uploaded the Melolune title lyrics anywhere, but I probably will closer to when the game is finished. And thanks so much for taking the time to play Melolune and write down bugs and everything; yes that email address works so if you wanted to send the report there that would be great!

          • Well, I sent 2 reports to you, but apparently something went wrong, I guess. Both E-Mails had the title “Bug report Melolune” and I sent them on 25th March and 30th April respectively. I used my E-Mail alexander.raiola@googlemail.com, because I thought if it’s both googlemail then it should work.

            I did re-send them again now. ^^ (Whew, I almost wrote “resent” as past tense from “resend”. XD) I didn’t have time to continue playing due to finishing my master thesis and job application stress and so on, but I will continue sometime, since I enjoy your game a lot.

            • Hi Squall, I just wanted to let you know that I received your bug report! (I just got home and I’m doing a quick email check before heading off to bed) Thanks so much for helping out with this… I’ll look over your comments tomorrow ^_^ Good luck with finishing your thesis and job applications! I hope you aren’t too stressed out!

              • Thanks, the major stress is over but until I got a job it’s kinda like hanging in mid-air between 2 chapters of my life, so there’s some tension left.

                I wonder what our time difference is. In Germany it’s noon right now. I guess you thoroughly enjoyed your saturday night, coming home at 4 or 5am(?). ^^

  6. Ah FF6, I read up the story on that, It’s got a very nice story, I really enjoyed it. Final Fantasy related, have you heard of Dissidia? It’s one of the best games SquareEnix has made for the PSP. It’s got both the main character and villain from FF’s 1 – 10 and secret characters from 11 and 12. I recommend trying it out.

    • Yeah the story is really engaging and often quite sad. I’ve heard of Dissidia but I haven’t played it… that’s interesting that it has all those characters from previous FF games though. Perhaps I’ll check it out sometime!

      • Ummm . . . Laura, I hope you wouldn’t mind, but I sent you an invitation on Steam. I wouldn’t mind if you reject my friend invitation, but I hope I’m not such a burden to you.

  7. Have you been to the Distant Worlds concert? It’s in San Francisco next Thursday and Friday:

    http://ffdistantworlds.com/

    I saw it when it was in Seattle and it was awesome! They did a version of the Opera with actually singers from the Seattle Opera! It was so amazing!

  8. You might be interested in my full-length novelization of Final Fantasy VI, The Esper, which can be read on my website.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

