Girl Gamers, E3, and a Video Game Composer Chat

June 16, 2010 at 1:48 am | Posted in Video Games | 17 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hi everyone! Hope you’re all having a great week ^_^ I haven’t had too much time lately to blog because things have been pretty busy for me at work, but today I finally got a chance to sit down and write. First of all… I wanted to let you know that I’m going to be doing a short interview series this month on my blog about girls who work in the video game industry. I interviewed some awesome ladies and I’m looking forward to sharing their responses with you. So make sure to check it out!

I can’t believe I had almost forgotten that E3 was this week! It wasn’t until my manager texted me saying he’d be flying down to LA that it finally hit me… it’s already the middle of June! This morning we watched Nintendo’s talk on the new Zelda for Wii. By far my favorite part was when Shigeru busted out from behind the backdrop. I’m not really sure what to think of the game yet, because the trailer didn’t show that much. I also felt bad for the presenters because they were obviously experiencing some interference that prevented them from showcasing what seemed to be Shigeru’s main platform: its more “natural” control scheme. But that’s alright, I’m still looking forward to playing… after all, I’ve been waiting for a new Wii Zelda since the day we finished Twilight Princess. So what about you guys… were there any E3 announcements that you were particularly excited about? For me it was all about Zelda: Skyward Sword, the 3DS, and Portal 2.

Last but not least… for anyone who is interested in video game music or indie composers, I’d love for you to check out our video game composer chat from GDC over at the Indiegames blog. (Thank-you Atreus for reminding me about this!) Basically, Jeriaska and Yoshi Miyamoto from Gamasutra rounded up Alec Holowka (Aquaria), DannyB (Super Meat Boy), Baiyon (Pixel Junk Eden), and me, to just talk about music for an hour🙂

Ah, I have to run now so I’ll save my news about the Plants vs. Zombies soundtrack til next time…

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m glad you’re having fun at E3 ^^ Personally I was most excited by the 3DS, alot of the games for it seem really cool! Portal 2 of course. Steam things on the PSN. I was let down by sony though… I was hoping to see Lost Guardian! Soundtrack eh? That’s exciting! I can’t wait to get it (if that’s what you’re implying!)

    • Oh, I’m not at E3 this year — we were just watching trailers online and stuff😛

      I was really hoping to see more Lost Guardian footage too… it looks like such a beautiful game (and I bet the story is going to make me cry). I actually have a bit of involvement with that game, but I can’t really talk about it yet😉

  2. Yeah that rocks!i hope i will live in america!

    • Hehe, thanks Vincent!

  3. Yay, thanks for posting it up🙂

    • No problem! I’m glad you reminded me!

  4. Finally a Zelda update! Adult link in a wind waker-ish world. I would assume that the theme should be a bit lighter than Twilight Princess based on the graphics and the title itself. Hoping to see more Link❤ Zelda "action" in this one!

    • I know right? I’ve been waiting such a long time to find out what the new Wii Zelda would be about! We only have to wait another year, hehe… I hope the environment in this new game is as beautiful as Twilight Princess. That game had really great places to explore; I loved swimming around Zora’s domain and fishing in that lagoon.

  5. Man finally, I’ve been waiting for the new Zelda game, and of course Portal 2🙂. I’m definitely going to grab those games. Of course, I have to do well in school now that’s it started again >_>. Anyway, how are you doing Laura? How are you and that music group doing now :)?

    • You have school in the summer? Aww… well, good luck with your classes! I’ve been doing pretty well… just very busy these days! Which music group are you referring to?

      • Nah, Summer just ended here in the Philippines🙂, I’ts the end of school and back to classes! >_> I’m referring to the GDC over at the indiegames blog, you guys seem to have a lot of interesting talks😀.

        • Aww, that’s too bad your summer is over… I hope it was a fun one though!

          Oh, GDC = Game Developer’s Conference, it’s a yearly conference for game developers held around February/March. There are lots of informative sessions and talks where you can learn about everything from new game engines, to tips for writing better game stories. There’s parties, awards, keynote speakers, etc. It’s also a good time to meet up with old friends, and I think a lot of journalists are there as well. Jeriaska (a journalist from Gamasutra) actually organized this video game composer chat for us, he’s really cool.

  6. And this is your picture😉
    You looked lovely, forever and always🙂

    I found it here

    http://www.indiegames.com/blog/2010/06/gdc_music_chat_baiyon_danny_b_1.html

    Nice interview btw🙂

    • Aw, thank-you Ken ^_^

  7. Shigi, please tell you had had a look at that Nintendo 3DS! I hear tons and tons of praise about it, but us regular folk who couldn’t attend E3 only got to watch it on their computer screens. Apparently, the 3DS will portray only as a 2D image when filmed on camera, so Nintendo didn’t allow cameramen to see the 3DS screen in action. I want to hear it from you or anyone who’s actually seen the real thing in play with their own eyes, how was it, and what did you think of it? My heart feels like it’s about to burst through my chest, all Alien style from the excitement. What did you think of Kid Icarus? Gah, my head’s spinning, I’m gonna go take a few deep breaths now, and calm the heck down.

    So what was your favorite game or piece of hardware on the show floor?

    • Hi aniki! Actually I didn’t go to E3 this year, I’ve just been reading the press releases and everything. But I’m really excited about the 3DS. I heard that the screen is crafted in such a way that parts of the image can only be seen by one eye or the other due to slight tilts in the screen (sort of like how 3D glasses at movies show each eye a different image). It sounds awesome!

      • Hmmm, I see, kind of like those hologram card picture things… I guess? I can’t wait to try it out, I’m all excited for the Zelda 64 remake and the new Kid Icarus!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

