Plants vs. Zombies piano versions #4

May 2, 2010 at 12:40 am | Posted in Plants vs. Zombies piano version series | 38 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Hi everyone! So… I know a lot of you guys have been requesting a piano version of Dr. Zomboss’ theme from Plants vs. Zombies (otherwise known as “Brainiac Maniac”), so I wanted to make sure to record that for you. As I mentioned earlier, this was a particularly interesting challenge for me since the original arrangement has so much going on and I only have two hands😛 But hopefully you’ll like it (it took me about 20 tries to do this without messing up even though I’ve been practicing all week, haha):

P.S. Could anyone recommend a reasonably priced webcam that isn’t too laggy or choppy? I have a little one that I got several years ago, but as you can tell from the Yoshi Slippers video, it’s quite laggy.

38 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very, very cool! You know, your music is driving sales of this game. I know several people who bought it after hearing your music video and piano renditions. These are great arrangements! On a less significant note, it’s also helped to get me back into composing music for my games, so I’m thankful for the inspiration!

    • Thank-you Tyler🙂 I’m really glad to hear that the music is inspiring you to get back in to composing for your games! What kind of games are you working on?

      I’m also happy to hear that the music is encouraging people to check out PvZ. Now if only Popcap would give me the okay to release that soundtrack😛

      • http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Logitech+-+WebCam+Pro9000/8380593.p?skuId=8380593&ky=1whxm51gbOgORrn6M8JOUlLjDtR0yY7Rx&cmp=RMX&id=1179165373906 That’s a lot like the one I have, It has a good mic and more than adequate picture quality.

        • Obviously I meant to do that in my thread!^^’ Sorry!

        • That one looks pretty good, and affordable too! I should check how many frames per second my webcam has. I don’t mind if the image quality is low, just as long as the video doesn’t look all laggy (I hate that). And good sound is important too since my other webcam would flip out when I started playing the piano (I guess it was too loud for it)

      • Yeah, they should let you release it. You could even offer them a 10% cut!😉 As far as that goes, they should also talk to Alfred Music about publishing the piano sheet music.

        To answer your question, my current game project is a sort of music rpg (you perform music to cast spells in competitions/battles, etc.).

        • Ah, I’m guessing they’re the same company that does the Alfred series? That’s what I use to teach my piano students🙂 Playing music to cast spells sounds like a cool idea. My rpg also has some musical elements; you have to collect pieces of songs and put them together in order to “solve” the dungeon and gain new spells. The background music also changes accordingly.

  2. Hey.. that’s like… AMAZING! ^^ hehe. You’re so talented. Do you have anymore piano pieces planned? I don’t know what to say about webcams though… I know logitech makes OK ones, mine’s a logitech and it doesn’t have many issues, and it has an ok mic (at least people can hear me when i play games online) I have no idea what model number it is though…. sorry

    • Thanks Josh! I would like to do a few more piano versions if possible. I’m guessing that Grasswalk and Cerebrawl will be next🙂 I think my webcam is a logitech too, but it’s probably an older version. Maybe I can just look for a newer/higher quality version in the same brand.

  3. Oh man, this is so damn fantastic. I have listened to it far more than I should, already! I want that piano album that much more now!

    Guess for now I’ll have to dl it off youtube

    • Hehehe… thanks Atreus🙂 After your suggestion about bandcamp, I’m totally inspired to put together a piano album of sorts. As soon as I get some more time…

      • You have no idea how awesome it is to hear that😀 Or, maybe you do. Either way, it’s really awesome to hear!

  4. Argh, forgot to hit the “notify me of followup comments”

  5. Hi Laura,
    i really love all your music composition and i want to help with selecting best WEBCAM. Best webcam for PC cost only 40$ and have 70° view angle + buit in 4 HD microphones… That camera is HIGH SPEED and you can record sound and picture 60frames per sec. with no lag… Contact me over mail or add me on MSN and i will tell you what is that cam and i will tell you how you can use it on PC, because it is not made for PC😀

    One time again, beautiful song Laura😉
    Stefan

    • Thanks Stefan, I’m glad that you like my compositions🙂 Also, thank-you for the suggestion, but I think I might end up going with something simple for PC that I can pick up at Best Buy.

      • It is simple when you try only one time😉 I want to help you😉 Contact me over MSN😉

  6. Impressive, even though I think you rushed it abit and got out of time here and there.😉 I especially like the parts starting at 1:05 and 1:51!
    Too bad I see no chance to play this song on solo guitar; too fast, too wide range…

    • Thanks Marcus🙂 Haha, yeah it might be tough to do on guitar… there’s too many notes!

  7. EPICNESS RIGHT HERE :O Godly, as always
    …I don’t know of any good cameras, but why don’t you just put subtitles under the video while you’re talking so viewers can read what you’re saying? That way you can still use your current camera…🙂

    • Hehe, thank-you ^_^ That’s a good idea about the subtitles. The thing about iPhone video though, is that you can’t edit it/add subtitles using any of the readily available Windows programs… I found a way to convert the video format, but then realized afterwards that it flips the video when I film it vertically like this. And I can’t take the video horizontally because the iPhone would fall off, hehe😛

      • Hmmmm… I see, I see… Windows Movie Maker doesn’t work?? I don’t know, I’ve never made a video…:/
        What’s holding the iPhone above you, btw?

        • Haha, it’s a sort of funny arrangement😛 I stacked a speaker, a few cookbooks, and a little box on top of the piano… then I set the iPhone on top of the little box so that it’s hanging halfway over the edge of it (so the lens won’t be covered)… very precarious.

          • Lol… I thought it was a music stand or something
            Is it possible to position the phone so it hangs off of a really high music stand, and take the video horizontally, not vertically?

  8. Once Again, Awesomeness in your piano piece Laura. It really makes me wonder how you’ve gotten so good when you do your piano pieces! It truly awes me how good you are!

    PS: I’ve heard you do Shotokan Karate too! May I ask what belt/rank you’ve reached when you trained in it?

    • Thanks Stephen🙂 Ah, that’s cool that you do Shotokan. Are you still currently practicing? To answer your question, I was 2 weeks away from my 1st degree black belt test when I quit. The reason I quit was that I took a pretty major kick to the head which put me out of commission for a while; once I felt comfortable getting back into it, life just got too busy for me. I’ve always wanted to go back to martial arts again, but I think at this point I would probably try a different style just because it’s been so long.

      • Ouch, that really must’ve been bad! Right now, I’m still practicing Shotokan ever since I started around 4 – 5 years ago when I was still in my late grade school years, I might stop my Shotokan maybe when I get within the black belt range, but so far it might take a couple years. Maybe when you’re less busy you could take something a little more relaxing, or possibly continue with your Shotokan. Anyway, I wish you luck in your music Laura, stay safe and God bless you!

        – Stephen Yap

  9. Laura delivers! As always, I’m looking forward to hearing more of your work.

    You also reminded me to dig up that old Hanon book that’s been collecting dust in my bookshelf for the past six years or so… after fifteen years of playing I’ve learned that anyone can still get rusty!

    • Haha… yeah, I guess even our fingers can get out of shape! Yay for Hannon exercises😛

  10. I never did bother with a webcam, but my digicam has video capability with sound, and it works out pretty awesomely. It’s a Samsung, but any decent mid-range camera should have video with sound. Then you could also use it for photography, if that’s your thing.

    I love your music! It’s one of the best parts of PvZ. ^_^

    • Thank-you Dana🙂 I should really check if my digicam has video on it. I kind of just assumed that it didn’t because I never saw the option in the menu… but I should really find out for sure!

  11. Hey Shigi,

    After listening to the Plants vs Zombies music I have on my computer about a billion times, I thought I’d just say comment here on your blog that I absolutely love your music, its REALLY good😀
    Somehow you make it calm and action-y (if thats a word) at the same time🙂

    Just have a quick question for you, I’m just wondering what instruments are used for the nighttime sounds – its hard to describe, but to me, they sound like a pop and buzz – they start at about 1:21 in the Rigor Mormist Horde version😀

    Anyway, hope you have a great day, and good luck with your career😀
    P.S. Any word on the PVZ soundtrack?🙂

    • Hi Dean, thanks for your comment… I’m really glad you like the music ^_^ To answer your question, the beats from Rigor Mormist are actually my own homeade samples. I use a program in conjunction with Sonar 6 that allows me to set .wav files to notes. So if I were to set a bass drum sample to C5, everytime I wanted the bass drum to play, I’d just write a C5 into the sheet music. Anyways, so I recorded a bunch of popping and clicking noises that I made with my mouth, snapping my fingers, or opening jars or something… then I added some effects and set them to be used as percussion sounds🙂

      • Thanks for your fast reply Shigi, and wow, thats amazing! Thanks for explaining hehe🙂
        At first, I thought the pops and clicks from that track were my speakers stuffing up😀
        Oh, and forgot to mention before, keep up the great work on those piano clips, pity you don’t live in Australia, I would def get piano lessons from you🙂
        Anyway, thanks again🙂

  12. Hey,

    i loooove this piece and was wondering if you could possibly give me the music sheet for it on the piano?!

    i’d really appreciate it as my friends and I love plants vs zombies😛

    thanks in advance!

    • Hi John, thanks for your comment! I’m sorry, I actually don’t have sheet music for these piano versions… I’ve just been improvising them. But if you visit Sebastian Wolff’s site, he has kindly transcribed a few piano arrangements and uploaded them for folks to grab!

  13. You’re videos are amazing!!!! I totally want to download your piano version of….. EVERYTHING! Can you tell me where I can?

    • Hehe, thank-you Pengyzu🙂 I don’t actually have mp3s of the piano versions for download yet… but I’m definitely considering making a piano compilation album! I’ll make sure to let you know when that’s finished. For now though, feel free to download any of the music from the Pop Music and VGM sections!

      • Thanks, Laura… Will do


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

