Durian

July 30, 2008 at 2:55 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 16 Comments

Stray Durian
George and I were in the produce section at the grocery store when we noticed a bin of durians. He remembered my story about sneaking random bags of kitty litter and giant pink balls into peoples’ carts at Alberton’s and said “hey, what if we put a DURIAN into someone’s cart?” So then he grabs one, and sneaks it into the cart of this totally unassuming middle-aged lady who was preoccupied with her cel phone conversation. Upon realizing she had a stray durian in her cart, she promptly removed it and asked everyone around her if it belonged to them… when she found no takers, she snuck it into an unmanned cart behind her!

So then I said “we should totally put another one in her cart!” I went and grabbed another durian from the bin, and waited until she left the cart to grab some vegetables before dropping it in. We waited at the frozen foods section for her reaction… upon seeing yet another stray durian, bearing a very confused “how the hell did this get here” look on her face, she resolutely picked it up and put it back in its bin. I wanted to go for a third… but she was now quite vigilant, so we thought it best to leave it at 2.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ugh…those things smell horrible!
    I remember when I was a kid and I was able to eat that hahaha.
    Good joke though, I think I might try that someday lol.

    • Haha, did you eat the fresh kind or the frozen kind? My friends warned me that the fresh kind is like 100x more potent than the frozen kind, so I’m very curious.

  2. i love this song i have the japanese version as my ringtone, i also love the sun flower, u r great! greetings

    • Thank-you very much🙂 I need to get a more interesting ringtone… right now it’s the sound of opening a can of soda and pouring it into a glass, haha.

      • Wow, that ringtone reminds me of another composer, Suzanne Ciani! You can hear her verson on her website (click on the “Coca-Cola Pop and Pour” link). I learned about her through a game as well, but in her case, it was the pinball game Xenon, for which she did the sound.

  3. laura! my roommate just beat ‘plants vs. zombies’ and guess who turned up in the credits! holy shit my former-RA is famous! i’m so proud.

    • Anthony! It’s good to hear from you! I left a message at your blog… but yeah, just a little while ago I was telling people about how you taught me how to skateboard in the middle of the night, haha. How are you doing? Hope all is well for you!

  4. That is one mean looking fruit. It should be used as some kind of weapon in Plants vs Zombies. Only problem is that most of the players wouldn’t probably recognize it :S Nice prank anyways.

    • Hahaha, it does look like a weapon😛 I’ve always thought Durian looks like Lavos from Chrono Trigger!

  5. HAHAHA that is so great omgosh seriously thats really funny, I really wanna try that now haha😀

  6. Wow, didn’t expect to see you write about Thai fruit here! I don’t really like durian because of its smell :S

    About the prank, I wish I could see her face. Poor woman!

  7. Durians’ aren’t from Thailand; they are from Indonesia, Malaysia and Brunei according to the almighty wiki ^_^ My parents loved the stuff but i honestly hated the smell, extremely pungent once you cracked it open. Apparently it smells bad but tastes really good.

  8. Durian are the most foul-smelling evil vile things known to man! I can’t believe you could do something like that! Whenever I’m out and about here (in Thailand) I tend to give the Durian stalls a very wide berth! I hope you didn’t stink out the poor lady’s shopping!

    • Thankfully, I think the ones here are frozen so they don’t smell as strongly (I’ve never smelled real fresh Durian before, so I don’t know what it’s like). But I’ve smelled stinky tofu… ahh, it smells terrible!

  9. i love frozen durians there so awesome =D ive never even seen a non frozen durian so i wouldnt know wat the smell was like. if i ever goto a pho (pronounced f-ah [kinda] for the ppl who dont no) restaurant i always order a durian milkshake. i used to also get scared cause my brother threatened to hit me with a durian o.o

  10. Hey, is durian season in Malaysia now. I treat you some if you ever come to this part of the world…😛 Love the music from PvZ.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

