2:00

April 20, 2008 at 6:59 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

One time I filled out this thing where you were supposed to list 10 weird things about yourself.  I think when I was writing it, I had a really tough time narrowing it down.  And ever since then, I’ve been noticing even more weird things I do that could very well fit on that list.

Take for example: I hate getting the hiccups (I mean I really really hate it, it throws me off so much that I can’t even form coherent sentences because I’m so annoyed by the disruption), so I invented this game to play with myself that would serve the dual purpose of getting rid of the hiccups and distracting me enough that I wouldn’t be annoyed.  I use the lap timer on my cel phone to have a breath holding contest with myself.  I used to think I was a really good breath holder.  In high school I could hold my breath for 1:30… that was longer than all my swimmer/water polo friends, so I thought “I must be good.” 

So most of the time when I play this game, I shoot for 1:30.  I don’t see myself getting much further than that, because I heard that you pass out after about 3 minutes anyway, and I don’t want to be doing that.  But then I found this website on extreme diving and I learned that some nutheads hold their breath in excess of 5 minutes.  It sounds horrible though; he talks all about how at around 3 minutes you start having convulsions and you have to use all your brain power to control them… ugh.  He also participated in some neurological study that showed that brain cells don’t die as a result of holding your breath because your body basically saves all its oxygen for the brain (you’d basically have to pass out and die in order to suffer brain damage). 

Which all makes me feel a lot better about my game, because let’s face it, I really like this game.  I like it so much that I don’t even lament over the onset of hiccups anymore, I just pull out my cel phone and get ready to race the clock.  And yesterday, I broke new ground…

George and I were driving to central CA so we could go zip lining, and the hiccups caught me somewhere on the San Mateo bridge.  I was listening to music and looking at the ocean, so I wasn’t thinking about the timer the way I normally do.  Suddenly I look down and see “1:00” and I’m like, “1 minute already?  But I’m not even tired yet!”  Now that I’m aware of it, my heart starts beating a little faster and I tell myself to calm down.  I’m at 1:30 now, and I’m thinking “oh my gosh, I could keep going if I wanted to… I’ll just listen to George’s weird Norwegian music and stare out the window…”  Then it was 1:50 and I was like “can I make it to 2??  I’ll hold out til 2 if I can!  But no more than that, I’m not a trained extreme diver!” 

So now I am officially the longest breath holder I know in person: 2 minutes.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

