Elves in Iceland

March 5, 2008 at 7:09 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

I know I said I was going to write more about GDC, but I got really tired as the week went on and kind of stopped. I do want to say a few things about it though.

1.) We went to a seminar where 3 well-known game designers were given the challenge to design a game that could be played with another species. One of the contestants was Alexy Pajitnov (creator of Tetris). He is very funny. His game idea, entitled “Dolphin Ride,” included people riding around on dolphins controlling their direction with electric shocks, and shooting paintballs at targets and other dolphins. When asked about the danger of using electricity under water he replied “it’s low voltage”… and when asked about whether or not shooting paintball guns at dolphins was cruel he said “it’s underwater… it doesn’t go that fast!” Hahaha… the best part was when he pretended to ride a dolphin and shoot during the voting portion of the talk.

2.) Men in kilts. I kept asking “why are there so many men wearing kilts here? Are they repping Scotland or something?” Then I found out that it was probably people from CCP, the Icelandic company that makes EVE online. I also found out through their website that 80% of Icelanders believe in the existence of elves. I don’t know about you, but that’s like a reason in and of itself to move to Iceland.

3.) I participated in a demo derby which was pretty fun. We submitted a 60 second demo reel to be reviewed by people in the industry. It was kind of like American Idol but without winners or Simons. The panelists were very nice actually, and managed to fit all the musicians in.

4.) George and I had been watching this BBC nature series called “Blue Planet” and one episode (quite randomly) really made me want to drink a mojito. I know that sounds stupid, but I will explain: After a long dive in the musky warm Amazon River in an attempt to film a special kind of shark, the crew celebrated on this boat by drinking these really awesome looking, refreshing, frosty, limey mojitos. So anyways, we had dinner with some PopCap people on the Thursday of GDC and after a long long day I finally got my mojito. Felt stupid ordering it at an Italian restuarant, but boy did it hit the spot. Felt even stupider when George referenced how after drinking that mojito I started preaching about the honor of Blood Elves in response to John Vechey called them the snotty bourgeoisie.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What would be really cool is a country where 80% of the people believe in Leebles.😀

    • Hahaha, I agree!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

